BSS reporter Mahmudul Hasan Raju receives ICT Award


DHAKA, Dec 12, 2017 (BSS) – Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) Deputy Chief Reporter Mahmudul Hasan Raju today received the National ICT Award, along with 8 other individuals and six institutions, for his contribution to journalism in ICT sector.

The government today celebrated the first ever National ICT Day to make its Digital Bangladesh concept a memorable one.

Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury distributed the awards among winners as the chief guest at a function at Bangabandhu International Conference Center here.

Educationist and Writer Professor Zafar Iqbal was conferred with life-time honor while special honor (posthumous) was given to late mayor of Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) Annisul Huq for making development works using ICT.

Country’s first online newspaper Editor-in-Chief Toufique Imrose Khalidi also received a special recognition for his contributions to the field of ICT.

Directorate General of Health Services Dr Abul Kalam Azad received the ICT Award in health category, LEADS Corporation Limited and LEADSOFT Bangladesh Limited Managing Director Sheikh Abdul Aziz in software innovation, Faridpur Deputy Commissioner Begum Umme Salam Tanjia in civil service, ‘Service Engine Limited’ as the best exporter in ICT sector, City Bank Limited in online banking and as the best ‘start-up’ in ICT. Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) attained the award in education category, Department of Agricultural Extension for providing information services to farmers using mobile phone, Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) for contribution to provide service to people using ICT.

Along with Mahmudul Hasan Raju of BSS, Channel-i senior reporter Faridur Rahman Pantho and Dainik Kaler Kantho Technology Department chief Muhammad Khan received the award in journalism in ICT sector.

State Minister for ICT Division Zunaid Ahmed Palak, Chairman of Parliamentary Standing Committee on ICT Division Imran Ahmed and ICT Secretary Subir Kishore Choudhury, among others, joined the function.