Bangladesh bans passenger entry from Europe except UK, 12 other countries


DHAKA, April 1, 2021 (BSS) – Bangladesh has imposed a 16-day ban on entry of passengers from all European nations except the United Kingdom (UK) and 12 other countries from April 3 to check the new spike of coronavirus.

Apart from Europe, the 12 other countries are Argentina, Bahrain, Brazil, Chile, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Peru, Qatar, South Africa, Turkey and Uruguay, Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) announced today in a circular dated March 31, 2021.

As per the circular, the ban comes into effect from April 3 and will continue till April 18.

Airlines operating scheduled passenger flights from all those countries will be allowed to carry only transit passengers to Bangladesh subject to the conditions that the passengers remain confined inside the terminal building only, it said.

The CAAB said it came up with the decision after reviewing the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic situation throughout the country and across the world.