BSP-26 Int’l badminton tournament dedicating to Bangabandhu begins





Int’l badminton tournament dedicating to Bangabandhu begins

DHAKA, Dec 10, 2019 (BSS) – The 7th edition of the Yonex Sunrise
Bangladesh International Challenge 2019 Badminton Tournament began today in
the city, dedicating to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur

State Minister for Youth and Sports Md Zahid Ahsan Russel inaugurated
the tournament this afternoon at the Shaheed Tajuddin Ahmed Indoor Stadium
adjacent to the Bangabandhu National Stadium.

Bangladesh Badminton Federation (BBF) President and Information
Secretary Abdul Malek chaired the inaugural function.

Addressing the function, Zahid Ahsan Russel said Bangladesh’s sports
sector is moving forward under the leadership of sports-friendly Prime
Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Under her overall patronization, the country has achieved the highest
number of awards in the history of the South Asia (SA) Games held in Nepal
(this year), he added.

“In the next year, we will celebrate the birth centenary of Father of the
Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. To make this special moment
memorable, we dedicated the international tournament to Father of the
Nation,” the state minister said.

In his presidential speech, Abdul Malek recalled the freedom fighters in
the month of victory and said, “We have been able to organise this edition
(badminton tournament) due to the contribution of the Liberation War”.

Bangladesh cannot be liberated if Bangabandhu had not declared the
independence in 1971, he said, adding, “We are moving ahead following the
footsteps of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu”.

Terming the 7th edition of the international badminton tournament as the
largest one in the country’s history, BBF president said a total of 168
competitors, including 112 men and 56 women, from 19 countries are taking
part in the tournament.

BBF Vice-President and Tournament Committee Secretary Jahurul Islam
Swapan and General Secretary Amir Hossain Bahar, Beximco’s Akash DTH Chief
Executive Officer Faisal Haider addressed the function, among others.

The participating countries are Australia, Canada, China, Egypt, India,
Japan, Maldives, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, America, Uzbekistan,
Indonesia, Mauritius, Ireland, Vietnam, Iran, Wales and host country

BSS/MHC/SAH/RY/20:10 hrs