JS adopts obituary reference


SANGSAD BHABAN, Nov 07, 2019 (BSS) – The Jatiya Sangsad today unanimously
adopted obituary references on a number of distinguished personalities,
including a former minister and Dhaka City Mayor, a former deputy minister,
Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal Acting President and lawmaker, two language
veterans, noted Buddhist religious leader and Ekushey Award recipient, former
lawmaker, renowned journalists and noted cultural personalities.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the obituary references separately with
brief resumes on those who died after prorogation of the fourth session of the
11th parliament.

While moving the references, the Speaker said the House expresses its deep
shock at the deaths of former BNP minister and Dhaka City Corporation Mayor
Sadeque Hossain Khoka, former deputy minister Humayun Kabir, JSD acting
president and lawmaker Mainuddin Khan Badal, founder member of the ruling
Awami League and language veterans Dr M Rafiqul Bari, Muhammad Musa and
topmost third spiritual Buddhist leader Satyapriyo Mahathero who was also a
recipient of the Ekushey Award.

The house also condoled the death of former lawmaker M Kafil Sonar, noted
journalist, columnist and former executive editor of fortnightly magazine
‘Annanya’ Dil Monwara Monu, noted artist Kalidas Karmakar and former Dhaka
city unit Awami League Labour Secretary Alhaz Makbul Ahmed.

The house also expressed deep condolence over the deaths of Ma Cha Yoi, mother
of CHT Affairs Minister Bir Bahadur Ushwe Sing and senior security assistant
of the parliament secretariat Nur Banu.

The Jatiya Sangsad has also expressed deep shock recalling the deaths caused
by various incidences held at home and abroad in recent past.

Recalling the contribution of the deceased JSD leader Mainuddin Khan Badol,
opposition leader in the parliament Begum Raushan Ershad said “the nation has
lost a noted and humble parliamentarian due to his death.”

The lawmakers including Tofail Ahmed, Amir Hossain Amu, Mohammad Nasim, Abul
Kalam Azad, Shajahan Khan, Mahiuddin Khan Alamgir, ASM Feroz, Jatiya
Samajtantrik Dal leader Hasanul Haq Inu, Workers Party leader Rashed Khan
Menon, Jatiya Party lawmaker Anisul Islam Mahmud and opposition chief whip
Mashiur Rahman Ranga spoke in the House.

The House also sought eternal peace and conveyed sympathy to the bereaved
family members. The lawmakers also observed one-minute silence as a mark of
respect to the departed souls.
Later, a munajat was offered seeking eternal peace of the departed souls.
After the munajat, as convention, the Speaker adjourned the sitting of the
House to show respect at the death of a current parliament member Moinuddin
Khan Badal.