RMU’s first syndicate meeting held


 RAJSHAHI, May 27, 2018 (BSS)- First syndicate meeting of Rajshahi Medical University (RMU) was held yesterday with its Vice-chancellor and syndicate president Prof Masum Habib in the chair.

Held in the conference hall of University Grants Commission (UGC), the meeting passed the decision of bringing 49 medical institutions in Rajshahi, Rangpur and Khulna divisions under the RMU’s jurisdiction, , said a press release here.

The meeting also approved the course and curriculum of the institutions.

It also formed a high powered committee to formulate constitution, rules and regulations of the medical varsity in the light of its law.

Syndicate members Prof Ruhul Haque, MP, Prof Pran Gopal Datta, Prof Shah Newaj Ali, Dr Anwar Hossain Hawlader, Zabed Hossain, Momtaj Uddin, Prof Kanak Kanti Barua, Prof Abul Kalam Azad, Prof Shahidullah and Ayen Uddin, MP joined the meeting.

The meeting was told that the university will conduct 85 post-graduate courses under nine faculties. Appointment was given to some of the major posts including registrar and controller of examinations aims at bringing dynamism into its activities.

Besides, there will be a 1,000-bed modern hospital attached to the university. A nursing institute will also be established for creating skilled nurses. Acquisition process of 86 acres of land for establishing permanent campus in Borobangram area in the city is progressing fast.

Simultaneously, process of building permanent campus is progressing.