Left Alliances, JCD, Quota reformers announce panels for DUCSU polls


DHAKA, Feb 25, 2019 (BSS) – Left alliances, Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD)
and Quota movement activists announced separate panels today for the upcoming
Dhaka University Central Students’ Union (DUCSU) and hall unions election
scheduled to be held on March 11.

Left student organisations under the banner of Progressive Students’
Alliance and Anti-Imperialism Students’ Unity, named Chhatra Union general
secretary Liton Nandi as Vice-President (VP) candidate, DU unit president of
Chhatra Federation Umme Habiba Benzeer for General Secretary (GS) post and
Sadekul Islam Sadik (vice president of Samajtantrik Chhatra Front, DU unit)
for Assistant General Secretary (AGS) post from their joint forum.

BNP’s student wing JCD nominated Mostafizur Rahman (former JCD Joint-
Convener of Sir Salimulla Muslim Hall unit) and Anisur Rahman Khandaker Anik
(Joint Convener of Shahid Sergeant Zahurul Haq Hall unit) have been nominated
as VP and GS respectively while Khorshed Alam Sohel has been nominated as AGS
for the DUCSU election.

JCD DU unit president Al Mahadee Talukder and general secretary Abul Bashar
Siddique today announced their panel.

The pro-BNP student body also announced its vice-president and general
secretary nominees in 18 hall unions to contest the polls.

Quota reformation activists under the banner of “Bangladesh General
Students’ Rights Protection Council” announced their panels. Convener of the
platform Hasan Al Mamun announced the name of Nurul Haque Nur, Md Rashed Khan
and Faruk Hossain for competing in the post of VP, GS and AGS respectively.

The quota movement spear-headers nominated candidates of DUCSU polls are –
Nazmul Huda for liberation war secretary, Sohrab Hossin for science and
technology secretary, Sheikh Emili Jamal for common room and cafeteria
secretary, Habibullah Belali for international secretary, Akram Hossain for
literary secretary, Nahid Islam for cultural secretary, Mamunur Rashid Mamun
for sports secretary, Rajibul Islam for students’ transport secretary, and
Akhtar Hossain for social services.

Meanwhile, a rebel group of Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) also announced
a panel.

BCL yesterday announced their panel for DUCSU with BCL President Md
Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon, General Secretary Golam Rabbani and its DU
unit General Secretary Saddam Hussain as VP, GS and AGS candidates for the

The deadline for collecting nomination forms for DUCSU polls ends today.