23rd session prorogued, adopted thanksgiving motion


SANGSAD BHABAN, Oct 29, 2018 (BSS) – The 23rd session of the 10th
Parliament was prorogued today with passing 19 bills and adopting a
thanksgiving motion for achieving two prestigious international awards by
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina during its eight working days.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury read out the prorogation order of the
President of the 23rd session, at 10.05pm.

The Jatiya Sangsad (JS) unanimously adopted a thanksgiving motion for
achieving two prestigious international awards by Prime Minister Sheikh

The House adopted the motion for further brightening Bangladesh’s image
abroad through achieving the two awards by the prime minister during the 73rd
United Nations General Assembly held in New York last month.

Inter Press Service (IPS), a global news agency, conferred the
‘Humanitarian Award’ on the premier, while the Global Hope Coalition, a
network of three not-for-profit foundations based in New York, Zurich and
Hong Kong, honoured her with the ‘2018 Special Distinction Award for
Outstanding Leadership’ for her humanitarian and responsible policy in
hosting the Rohingyas.

Prior to reading out the prorogation order, the speaker gave floor to
leader of the opposition in the parliament Begum Rawshan Ershad.

Rawshan Ershad in her address urged all the political leaders to take part
in the upcoming general election irrespective of their party affiliation as
the country can hold a free fair election.

Terming the session of the 10th parliament as effective and successful,
the opposition leader said “we think that we could maintain our commitment in
the Jatiya Sangsad.”

She particularly gave thanks to the Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina for her
highest participation in the parliament as the PM attended in parliament for
338 days while the leader of the opposition attended in the parliament for
242 days.

Taking the floor, Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Rashed Khan Menon
criticized BNP-Jamaat and their destructive activities as they involved arson
attacks and vandalism across the country in 2014 and 2015. The BNP-Jamaat
cadres burnt innocent people including infant and farmers and gutted motor
vehicles properties across the country.

“But common people alongside the global forums strongly condemned and
rejected BNP-Jamaat’s vandalism activities. Moreover, You (Speaker) won
Commonwealth Parliamentary Association’s chairpersonship post and Saber
Hossain Chowdhdury achieved IPU president post through election in the global
MPs and Commonwealth PMs,” he said.

Jatiya Samastantrik Dal President and Information Minister Hasanul Huq Inu
said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina took bold step to transform the country
into a developed one.

Inu said recently, Dr Kamal Hossain formed an united alliance (Oikkyo
Front) and tried to stop progress as they wanted to release Begum Khaleda
Zia, who is now in jail for resorting to corruption.

He said all pro-liberation forces are now united under the leadership of
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and there is no alternative without her, as she
is only competitor of herself.

The speaker in her valedictory speech urged all parliament members to play
a constructive role in making the parliament effective to fulfill the hopes
and aspirations of the people.

She thanked all lawmakers belonging to both treasury and opposition
benches for reaching consensus in the House in a unique way in upholding
parliamentary democratic practices.

“The 23rd session of the parliament became lively with the active
participation of treasury and opposition lawmakers . . . their valuable
opinion played a significant role in making the session more constructive,”
Dr Shirin said.

She hoped that the treasury and opposition benches would continue to play
their constructive role in the House in future.

The session began on October 21.

The session accepted three out of 154 notices under the Section 71 of the
Rules of Procedure, of which one notice was discussed in the House.

Besides, 45 notices were discussed for two minutes under the Section 71
(A) of the Rules of Procedure.

A total of 59 questions were received for the Prime Minister, of which she
responded to 15 questions along with supplementary in the session.

The session received a total of 924 questions for different ministers,
state ministers and deputy ministers and they replied to 592 questions
including supplementary.

Leader of the House and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Leader of the
Opposition Begum Rawshan Ershad, ministers, state ministers, treasury and
opposition benches members took part in the businesses of the House.

Earlier, Leader of the House and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina gave her
valedictory speech.

The Speaker thanked all parliament members, officials, print and
electronic media personnel, law enforcers and fire service and civil defence
for their restless service towards holding the parliament session smoothly.

Chief Whip ASM Feroz and Jatiya Party lawmakers Dr Rustom Ali Farazi
participated in the closing session of the House.