Workshop on Digital Bangladesh for divisional, deputy commissioners held


DHAKA, July 27, 2018 (BSS) – A workshop on Digital Bangladesh was held today at the Bangabandhu International Conference Center (BICC) for all the Divisional Commissioners and Deputy Commissioners.

The workshop was jointly hosted by the Cabinet Division, the Ministry of Public Administration, Information and Communication Technology Division and the Access to Information (a2i) Programme.

The core objective of this workshop was to share the progress of implementing the Digital Bangladesh agenda and to lay down the duties of field administration.

Minister for Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Mustafa Jabbar addressed the concluding session of the workshop as the chief guest.

He said the deputy commissioners have an important role in establishing Digital Bangladesh in the form of an information and knowledge-based society.

State Minister for Information and Communication Technology Zunaid Ahmed Palak, MP, addressed the workshop’s opening session as the chief guest.

He said in the last four years, Bangladesh has climbed up 33 steps to 115th position in the United Nations’ e-Government ranking thanks to the leadership of the administrators at the district and field levels.

Palak said the deputy commissioners as the torchbearers in the establishment of Digital Bangladesh.

At the workshop, the divisional commissioners and the deputy commissioners received guidance on how to provide services at citizen’s doorsteps and fingertips using ICTs.

Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister’s Office Md. Nojibur Rahman, Principal Coordinator on SDG Affairs to the Prime Minister’s Office Md. Abul Kalam Azad, Executive Chairman of Bangladesh Investment Development Authority Kazi Md. Aminul Islam, Secretary (Coordination and Reforms) of the Cabinet Division N M Ziaul Alam, Secretary of the Ministry of Public Administration Faiz Ahmed, Secretary of Information and Communication Technology Division Zuena Aziz, Additional Secretary of the Cabinet Division (Field Administration) Farouqe Ahmed, Joint Secretary of the Bangladesh Government and Project Director of a2i Programme Md. Mostafizur Rahman (PAA), Policy Advisor of a2i Programme Anir Chowdhury and Director (e-Service) of a2i Programme Dr. Md. Abdul Mannan were present on the occasion, among others.