Tanvir spins Shinepukur to 1st victory in DPL


DHAKA, June 4, 2021 (BSS) – Left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam claimed 3-8 in four overs as Shinepukur Sporting Club stunned Shikeh Jamal Dhanmondi Cricket Club by 10 runs to register their first victory in the Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Legaue (DPL) at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

Shinepukur earlier lost their first game to Mohammedan by three wickets and conceded the same margin defeat at the hands of Prime Bank in the second game.

It was, however, Sheikh Jamal’s second defeat, following their seven-wicket drubbing at the hands of Gazi Group Cricketers. They won their first game against Khelaghar Samaj Kallayan Samity by 22 runs.

Electing to bat first Shinepukur were restricted to 137-5 but thanks to Tanvir, they defended the total, bowling Sheikh Jamal out for 127 in 19.5 overs.

Tanvir’s three-wicket haul was complemented by Hasan Murad’s 2-34 while Sumon Khan and Iftekhar Sajjad took one wicket apiece.

Elias Sunny was the top-scorer for Sheikh Jamal with 30 and Nasir Hossain made 28.

Opener Tanzid Hassan and Robiul Islam Robi jointly top-scored for Shinepukur with 34. After Tanzid’s good start, Shinepukur lost the way halfway through the innings before Robi with his unbeaten knock helped the side pace the innings towards the end. Skipper Towhid Hridoy chipped-in-with 28.

Ebadot Hossain and Ziaur Rahman snapped up two wickets for Sheikh Jamal.