List of 147,537 Freedom Fighters, 191 martyred intellectuals published


DHAKA, March 5, 2021 (BSS) – The government has published the first list of 147,537 freedom fighters, including Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, the four national leaders and 191 martyred intellectuals.

Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque announced the list today at a press conference at the ministry on the cession of celebrating golden jubilee of the country’s independence.

Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and four national leaders – Syed Nazrul Islam, Tajuddin Ahmed, Captain M Mansur Ali and AHM Qamaruzzaman – are in the top of the list.

“We have included the name of 147,537 Freedom Fighters through Management Information System (MIS) in the list while around 35 thousand freedom fighters of civil gazette have not been included for not having approval from National Freedom Fighter Council”, said AKM Mozammel.

The ministry has received the report of 434 upazilas to make their gazette regular he said, adding that after scrutinizing and appeal hearing, the final list of FF will be published on June 30 this year.

The minister said, “Though we have been observing the Martyred Intellectual Day, no list of the intellectuals is published yet. However, we have finally published a list”.

The list include: 37,387 freedom fighters from Dhaka division, 30,053 from Chittagong division, 17,630 from Khulna division, 15,158 from Rangpur division, 13,899 from Rajshahi division, 12,563 from Barisal division, 10,588 from Mymensingh and 10,264 from Sylhet division.