Ziaur, Fahad, Aminul now share lead after 4th round


DHAKA, March 12, 2021 (BSS) – Three players are now sharing lead in the points table with 3.5 points after the fourth round matches of the invitational phase of the Bangabandhu International Rating Chess tournament held today.

They are GM Ziaur Rahman, IM Mohammad Fahad Rahman and FM Khandaker Aminul Islam.

Seven players are sharing the second position with three points. They are GM Enamul Hossain Razib, IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin, FM Mehdi Hasan Parag, FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman, Anata Choudhury, CM Tahsin Tajwar Zia and Shafq Ahmed.

Four players are sharing third position with 2.5 points. They are FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed, CM Sharif Hossain, CM Manon Reja Neer and CM Sadnan Hasan Dihan.

In the day’s fourth round match of the invitation phase were held today (Friday) at Bangladesh Chess Federation hall-room, GM Zia split point with FM Kh. Amin, IM Fahad beat FM Nasir, GM Razib beat CM Sohel Chowdhury, FM Parag beat CM Sharif, CM Tahsin beat FM Subrota Biswas, Anata beat FM Debaraj Chatterjee, Shafiq beat Delwar Hossain, CM Neer Sakline Mostafa Sajid, CM Dihan beat Wadifa Ahmed, Masum Hossain beat CM Jamal Uddin, WFM Nazrana Khan Eva beat Md Sariatullah, Avik Sarkar beat Swarnavo Choudhury, WCM Ahmed Walijah beat Emdadul Haque, FM Md Saif Uddin beat Jabed Al Azad, FM Mohammad Javed split point with Mihir Lal Das, WIM Rani Hamid split point with CM Mahtabuddin Ahmed, WFM Noshin Anjum split point with Mohammad Shammem and WCM Jannatul Ferdous defeated Nushrat Jahan Alo.

On the other hand, five players are sharing lead in the points table with maximum four points in the below 2100 rating phase.

They are FM Eunus Hasan, Golam Mostafa Bhuiyan, Abu Hanif, Afzal Hossain Sacchu and Karim M Shahin.

Six players are sharing the second position with 3.5 points. They are Uten, Abzid rahman, Siddiqur Rahman, Aminul Islam, Ataur rahman and Kazi Mahbub Afzal.

In fourth round matches, FM Eunus beat Rashedul Hasan, Mostafa beat Sabyasachi Mandal, Hanif beat Jodunath Biswas, Sacchu beat Jewel Khan, Shahin beat Tipu Sultan, Uten beat Mortuza Mahathir Islam, Abzid beat A B Bappi, Siddiq beat A K M Kamruzzaman, Aminul beat Tahmidul Haque, Ataur beat Mohammad Hasan Miah and Afzal beat Md Hasan, Marzouq Chowdhury sp[lit point with Feroz Ahmed.

The fifth round of both division will be held tomorrow (Saturday) from 3 pm at the same venues.

Sponsored by Shah Cement and organised by Bangladesh Chess Federation, the tournament is being held marking the birth centenary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.