BSP-35 Bangladesh eve become champions in Women’s T20 qualifier





Bangladesh eve become champions in Women’s T20 qualifier

DHAKA, July 14, 2018 (BSS)- A five-wicket haul by Panna Ghosh as Bangladesh eve cricket team emerged champions in the ICC Women’s T20 qualifier beating Ireland by 25 runs in the final held today at Utrecht.

Asked to bat first, Bangladesh scored a decent total of 122 for 9 from their allotted 20 overs with Ayasha top scoring 46 runs and Fargana making 17.

‘Reilly grabbed four Bangladesh’s wickets conceding 28 runs while Metcelfe supported her with 2 for 24.

In reply, Ireland found the chase stiff and eventually dismissed at a paltry total of 97 in 18.4 overs.

Lewis top scored for Ireland making 26 while Richardson added 23.

Panna, the wrecker in chief, caused the major damage as she grabbed five Ireland wickets conceding 16 runs. She was later named the player of the match for her impressive bowling display.

Brief score:

Bangladesh -122 for 9 in 20 overs, Ayasha 46, Fargana 17, Shamima 16, O’Reilly 4/28 and Metcelfe 2/24.

Ireland innings – 97 for all in 18.4 overs, Lewis 26, Richardson 23, Panna 5/16 ,Rumana 2/14 and Nahida 2/15.