‘Mujib Barsho’ 1st Div. Chess league to begin Feb 25


DHAKA, Feb 3, 2021 (BSS)-‘Mujib Barsho’ 1st Division Chess league will
begin from February 25 at the hall room of Bangladesh Chess Federation (BCF)
at National Sports Council old building in the city, a BCF press release said

This time twelve teams will participate in the league, organized by BCF.
The twelve teams are — Manhas Castle Chess Club, Sultana Kamal Smrity
Pathagar, Dhaka Knight’s Chess Club, Khelaghor Chess Association, Gopalganj,
Basir Memorial Chess Club, Mir Chess Club, Agrani Bank Limited Chess Team,
Kasparov Chess Club, Dhaka Chess Club, Rupali Bank Sports Council, Esoft
Arena Chess Club and Morning Glory Chess Club, Kushtia.

The number draw and inauguration ceremony of the league will be held on
February 23, two day before the start of the league’s matches.

Manhas Castle Chess Club got the participation right from Sonargaon
Chess Club, Rupali Bank Krira Parishad got participation right from Legend
Faraaz Ayaaz Hossain Chess team and Dhaka Chess Club got participation right
from Debdas Biswas Smrity Sangsad to take part in the league.

The game of chess league will be held in a round-robin league system.
This year’s first division chess league champions, runners-up and third place
teams will be awarded with cash prizes, trophies and medals.

The champion team will get Taka 50,000.00, the runners-up team will have
Taka 30,000.00 and the third place team will receive Taka 20,000.00 as prizes
money. Players will also be given board awards based on each board’s

In this regard, a press conference was held today at BCF hall room to
provide all the details of the meet.

BCF vice president KM Shahidullah, BCF general secretary Syed Shahab
Uddin Shamim, BCF joint secretary and secretary of chess league committee
Masudur Rahman Mallick, International Arbiter Haroon Or Rashid and BCF member
Sajol Mahmud, were among others, present in the press conference.