BSP-20 Saif return winning streak in BPL





Saif return winning streak in BPL

DHAKA, Jan 28, 2021 (BSS)- Saif Sporting Club returned to the winning streak in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) football when they came from behind to register a 2-1 goal victory over Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra held today at Bangabandhu National Stadium (BNS) here.

With the day’s win, Saif Sporting Club improved their tally with seven points from four matches while Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra remained at their previous credit of three points from three outings.

In the day’s match, Nigerian defender Emmanuel Ariwachukwu and midfielder Jabed Ahmed scored one goal each in both halves to secure Saif’s second victory in the league while Uzbekistan forward Akbarali Kholdarov netted the lone goal for Muktijoddha Sangsad KC.

Akbarali Kholdarov put the freedom fighters ahead in the 25th minute while Emmanuel Ariwachukwu restored the parity for Saif SC in the 35th minute of the match.

After the resumption, Jabed sealed the victory scoring the second goal for Saif in the 79th minute of the match.

Saif Sporting Club dominated the proceeding, especially in the second half, and notched their deserving victory on the day while Muktijoddha Sangsad were off-colored except the day’s lone goal in the first half.

Saif Sporting Club will play their next match against Lieutenant Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club on February 2 after the match between Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra and Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra slated for February 1. Both the matches will be held at BNS.

Earlier, Saif Sporting Club played out to a 1-1 goal draw with Rahmatganj Muslim and Friends Society in their league opening match, defeated Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited by 2-1 goals in their second match and suffered a 0-1 goal defeat to Chittagong Abahani Limited in their third match.

On the other hand, the freedom fighters lost their league opening match to Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by 1-2 margin but they bounced back to register a 1-0 goal victory over Arambagh Krira Sangha in their second match.