BSS-35 2nd anniversary of 11th parliamentary election tomorrow





2nd anniversary of 11th parliamentary election tomorrow

DHAKA, Dec 29, 2020 (BSS) – Tomorrow is the second anniversary of
the 11th parliamentary election and the land slide victory of the
AL-led 14-party alliance under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh

After the massive election victory, Sheikh Hasina, also the Awami
League President and elder daughter of Father of the Nation
Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, formed the government for the third
consecutive term and took oath as the prime minister for the fourth
term with 47-member council of ministers on January 7, 2019.

Earlier, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) KM Nurul Huda announced
the election schedule for the 11th parliamentary election on November
8 fixing the voting date on December 23.

But on November 12, the EC deferred the polls schedule by a week
fixing new election date on December 30.

A total of 39 registered political parties, including the 14-party
alliance led by Awami League and Jatiya Oikyafront led by BNP, took
part in the election. A total of 1,848 aspirants, including 128
independents, contested in the polls.

Besides, election to the Gaibandha-3 constituency was held on
January 27 in 2019 instead of December 30 as Oikyafront nominated
candidate for the constituency Fazle Rabbi Chowdhury died on December
19, 2018.

The total number of voters was 104,190,480 while 52,547,329 was
male and 51,643,151 female.

For the first time in Bangladesh, Electronic Voting Machine (EVM)
was used in six constituencies in the 11th parliamentary elections.
The constituencies are Dhaka-6 and 13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3,
Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2.