13 journalists, one institution get ‘BRAC Migration Media Award’


DHAKA, Dec 24, 2020 (BSS) – Thirteen journalists and one media outlet have received ‘BRAC Migration Media Award’ in recognition to their contributions in protecting the rights of migrants and their families.

Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Imran Ahmad today distributed the award among the recipients at a function organized by BRAC at the BRAC Centre in the city, said a press release.

The BRAC in collaboration with the European Union and International Organization for Migration (IOM) launched the award in 2015 to recognise the journalists’ contributions to the country’s migration sector.

Addressing the function, Imran Ahmad said the newspapers play most vital role in making the people aware, which is impossible without the media.

Emphasizing on the objective journalism, the minister said responsible journalism can enrich the country’s migration sector.

European Union Bangladesh’s Head of Cooperation Maurizio Kiyan, IOM Bangladesh’s Mission Chief Giorgi Gigauri and BRAC Executive Director Asif Saleh, Senior Director KMM Morshed and Migration Programme chief Shariful Hasan spoke at the function.

The award was given in six categories: print newspapers (national), print newspapers (local), television, radio, online news sites and media institution.

Wasim Uddin Bhuiyan of The New Age, Md Mohiuddin of The Prothom Alo and Arafat Ara of The Financial Express received the award in the newspaper (national) category.

Abu Taher Md Turab of The Daily Jalalabad in Sylhet, Faruk Munir (Nur Islam) of The Daily Chattogram Protidin and Md Emdad Ullah of The Daily Feni received the award in the newspaper (local) category.

Sabina Yeasmin (Sabina Pnuthi) of DBC Television, Salahuddin Ahmed (Ahmed Reza) of Jamuna Television and Ashikur Rahman (Srabon) of News24 Television won the award in the television category.

Besides, Bangladesh Betar’s Md Mostafizur Rahman got the award in the radio category while Prothom Alo Online’s Mansura Hossain, freelancer reporter of Anadolu Agency, Turkish national news agency, Kamruzzaman and Bangla Tribune’s Saddif Sohrab won the award in the online category.

Online media outlet Probash Kotha got the ward in media institution category.