BSS-33 Rinvi elected president, Rashidul re-elected general secretary of ERF





Rinvi elected president, Rashidul re-elected general secretary of ERF

DHAKA, Nov 6, 2020 (BSS) – News editor of private satellite channel Banglavision Sharmin Rinvi was elected president while economic reporter of Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS) SM Rashidul Islam was re-elected as the general secretary of the Economic Reporters Forum (ERF) today.

Bureau Chief of AFP M Shafiqul Alam was elected unopposed as the vice president of ERF, a platform of journalists who cover economic issues in the country.

The biennial general meeting (BGM) and the election for 2020-21 term of the organization was held today at its office in the city’s Paltan area.

Later, election conducting board chairman and Jatiya Press Club President Saiful Alam announced the results, said a press release.

Out of the 238 voters of ERF, some 216 voters exercised their voting rights. The newly elected president Sharmin Rinvi got 124 votes while her lone competitor and editor of Arthosuchak Ziaur Rahman received 90 votes.

Apart from vice president Shafiqul Alam, general secretary SM Rashidul Islam and finance secretary Md Rezaul Haque Kawshik were also elected unopposed.

The other elected office bearers are Kutub Uddin Muhammad Jasim as assistant general secretary and Sirajul Islam Qadir, Syed Shahnewaz Karim, Md Azizur Rahman (Ripon) and Rahim Sheikh as executive members.

Jatiya Press Club general secretary Farida Yasmin and Bangladesh Public Relations Association general secretary Moniruzzaman Tipu acted as election commissioners.

Earlier, the biennial general meeting of the ERF was held for the 2018-19 period presided over by the outgoing president Saiful Islam Dilal.

The BGM approved the report of the general secretary and the audited annual report for the last term.

BSS/GM/FI/ 2300 hrs