BSS-47 AL candidates win in Daudkandi upazila council election





AL candidates win in Daudkandi upazila council election

CUMILLA, Oct 21, 2020 (BSS) – The Awami League nominated candidates have won in the Daudkandi upazila council elections that was held on Tuesday.

AL candidate Major (retd) Mohammad Ali Suman was elected unofficially as chairman as he bagged 1,52,230 votes while his rival BNP-nominated candidate Saiful Alam got 4,230 votes.

AL candidate M Tariqul Islam elected as vice-chairman, bagged 76,105 votes and his nearest independent candidate Mohammad Billalur Rashid Dolon got 41,021 votes.

In woman vice-chairman post, ruling party candidate got 76,105 votes while her rival BNP candidate Farida Yasmin managed 10,278 votes and both the candidates have been elected unofficially.

“The voting process has been completed peacefully”, said M Jahangir Hossen, senior district election officer today.

The district administration and Election Commission had taken strict security measures for holding the Daudkandi Upazila Council election, according to district election office sources.

The district administration deployed 24 executive magistrates, police and Rapid Action Battalion (RAB).

A total of 2,180 presiding officers, assistant presiding officers and poling officers were engaged for casting votes at 102 elections centers.

BSS/CORR/OG/ARS/1935 hrs