BSP-18 BCB President’s Cup: Mahmudullah XI keeps final hope alive beating Tamim XI





BCB President’s Cup: Mahmudullah XI keeps final hope alive beating Tamim XI

DHAKA, Oct 19, 2020 (BSS) – Mahmudullah XI kept their aspiration to play the final of BCB President’s Cup alive, sealing a four-wicket victory over Tamim Iqbal in the fifth game of the tournament at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Monday.

This was Mahmudullah Riyad’s side second victory in the tournament in four matches, both came against Tamim XI, who now must win against Nazmul XI on Wednesday if they want to play final.

Electing to bat first, Tamim XI recover from a shaky start to post 221-8 thanks to Yasir Ali Rabbi and Mohidul Islam Ankan. However the score was not enough as Mahmudullah led the side from the front to sail the side home, helping them record the victory with five balls to spare.

In pursuit of the target, Mahmudullah XI’s start was pretty ordinary as they were reduced to 8-2 before Imrul Kayes and young Mahmudul Hasan Joy brought the side back in contention with 84-run partnership for the third wicket.

Kayes was dismissed by Khaled Ahmed after scoring 49 off 55, sending the ball across the rope for seven times.

Joy and skipper Mahmudullah Riyad however kept the side aloft with 56-run partnership, which was broken with the dismissal of the former. Joy’s 58 off 101 was studded with six fours.

At this point, Tamim XI seemed to be clear favourite. Nevertheless, Riyad kept his calmness and got an apt support from Nurul Hasan Sohan. Together they spoiled Tamim Xi’s plan to take the side on the verge of the victory, sharing 65-run for fifth wicket.

Mahmudullah however couldn’t seal the victory of his own as he played a rash shot off Saifuddin’s bowling to be out on 67 off 87, with four fours and a six.

Nurul Hasan Sohan with 26 not out then completed the inevitable.

Earlier, Yasir and Ankan shared a 111-run partnership for the fifth wicket stand, guiding the side to comfortable position after Tamim XI was reduced to a precarious 17-4.

Yasir struck highest 62 off 81, clobbering five fours and one six while Ankan played a serene knock of 110 ball-57 that included three fours and two sixes.

Mohammad Saifuddin and Mosaddek Hossain Saikat utilized the platform set by the young duo perfectly, adding 75 off just 56 deliveries, which propelled the side to a position of dominance in a pitch that was not so conducive to batting.

Saikat struck 40 off 39, sending the ball across rope for thrice and hitting one six while Saifuddin hammered 29 ball-38 with four boundaries and one six.

After electing to bat first, Tamim XI made a horrendous start, vastly due to aggressive Rubel who dealt a double blow in his consecutive overs, taking out Tanzid Hasan Tamim and Anamul Haque Bijoy, both for 1 run. In between, Abu Haider Rony dismissed Tamim for 9.

Rubel then came up with fire again to take the wicket of Mohammad Mithun for 1.

Undeterred by Rubel’s explosive spell, Yasir and Ankan came up with serene batting and resisted further collapse. Unlike the other batsmen, they adopted a style of playing soft hands and in doing so kept the scoreboard rotating.

As they set their eye in, both unleashed powerful strokes from their repertoire to make the Mahmudullah XI’s bowlers disarray.

The partnership was broken whether Yasir was trapped run out. Rubel, who ended with 4-34, then came back in his second spell to get the prized scalp of Ankan.

But Saikat and Saifuddin started from where Ankan and Yasir ended. By plundering the bowlers at will, they took the side past 200 and looked destined for bigger things.

However Ebadot (2-60) made a double strike to deny them from doing anything bigger.

Brief Score:

Tamim XI 221-8 in 50 overs (Yasir 62, Ankan 57, Saikat 40, Saifuddin 38; Rubel 4-34, Ebadot 2-60, Abu Haider 1-40)

Mahmudullah XI 222-8 in 49.1 overs (Riyad 67, Mahmudul Hasan Joy 58, Imrul Kayes 49, Sohan 26 not out; Saifuddin 2-46, Mustafizur 1-48, Khaled 1-39, Taijul 1-40).

Result: Mahmudullah XI wins by 4 wickets.