AL candidates win Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by polls


DHAKA, Oct 17, 2020 (BSS) – Awami League (AL) backed candidates have
been unofficially elected in the by polls to Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6
constituencies as the concerned Returning Officers (ROs) declared the
results after counting the votes this evening.

Awami League (AL) nominated candidate to Dhaka-5 seat M Kazi
Monirul Islam has been elected Member of Parliament (MP) unofficially
defeating her nearest rival BNP backed candidate Salah Uddin Ahmed
with huge margin.

Returning Officer (RO) GM Sahatab Uddin declared the result after
counting the votes.

Monirul bagged 45,642 votes while his nearest rival candidate got
2,926 votes.

In the by polls to the Naogaon-6 constituency, AL nominated
candidate M Anwar Hossain (Helal) has also been unofficially elected
MP defeating his nearest BNP nominated candidate Sheikh Mohammad
Rezaul Islam with huge margin.

By-election Returning Officer (RO) and Naogaon District Election
Officer Mahmud Hasan announced the results after counting the votes.

Helal bagged 1,05,521 votes while his rival Rezaul got 4,605 votes.

The seats became vacant after the death of Habibur Rahman Mollah in
Dhaka on May 8 and Israfil Alam in Naogaon on July 28.