Australian cricket team due to arrive tomorrow


DHAKA, Aug. 17, 2017 (BSS)- Australian cricket team, led by Steven Smith, will arrive tomorrow (Friday) evening to play two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

The Australian cricket team is expected to reach in Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport at 10.30 pm, said Bangladesh Cricket Board media manager Rabid Imam told BSS over phone.

The tourists will open their Bangladesh campaign with a two-day practice match starting on Tuesday (August 22) before they will play the first Test on August 27 at home of cricket Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium at Mirpur.

The second and final Test will be held on September 4-8 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.

Australia has not played a Test in Bangladesh since Ricky Ponting’s team visited in 2006, six years after Bangladesh were granted Test status.

They were due to play two Tests in Bangladesh in October 2015 but the tour was cancelled amid security fears after attacks by Islamist extremists in Dhaka.

Australia refused to send their team to last year’s Under-19 World Cup in Dhaka over security worries.

Bangladesh hosted England last year, drawing the Test series 1-1.

Australia squad: Steven Smith (captain), David Warner (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Matthew Wade (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Matt Renshaw and Mitchell Swepson.