BSS-23 PM to cast vote in JS by-polls at Dhaka City College centre tomorrow





PM to cast vote in JS by-polls at Dhaka City College centre tomorrow

DHAKA, March 20, 2020 (BSS) – Prime Minister and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will cast her vote in the Jatiya Sangsad (JS) by-polls to Dhaka-10 constituency at Dhaka City College centre tomorrow morning.

“The prime minister will cast her vote at Dhaka City College centre at Dhanmondi around 9 in the morning,” PM’s Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim told BSS.

The JS by-elections to Dhaka-10, Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies will be held from 9am to 5pm tomorrow without any break.

The Election Commission will use Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in Dhaka-10 constituency, while ballot papers will be used in other two constituencies.

Dhaka-10 constituency fell vacant after Awami League lawmaker Barrister Sheikh Fazley Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest in the mayoral post of the Dhaka South City Corporation elections.

Returning Officer of Dhaka-10 constituency GM Sahtab Uddin told BSS that a total of six candidates are contesting in the Dhaka-10 by-polls.

They are Md Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin from Awami League, Sheikh Rabiul Alam from BNP, Haji Md Shahjahan from Jatiya Party, Nawab Khaza Ali Ahsan Askari from Bangladesh Muslim League, Mizanur Rahman Chowdhury from Bangladesh Congress and Abdur Rahim from PDP.

There are a total of 3,12,281 voters in Dhaka-10 constituency, while the number of polling centers is 117 with 776 booths.