BSP-15 Rangpur becomes divisional champions in Bangabandhu National Football Championship





Rangpur becomes divisional champions in Bangabandhu National Football Championship

RANGPUR, Feb 4, 2020 (BSS) – Rangpur District Football Association (DFA) team became the divisional level champions in the Bangabandhu National Football Championship-2020 with maximum points after the final match held at Nilphamari today.

After becoming the divisional level champions, the Rangpur DFA team has become qualified for taking part at the national level of the Bangabandhu National Football Championship-2020.

Under management of Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF), the Nilphamari District Football Federation and DFA organised the divisional level final match at Nilphamari International Sheikh Kamal Stadium in Nilphamari district town.

The Nilphamari DFA eleven defeated Rangpur DFA eleven by 2-1 in the divisional level final match of the championship participated by all eight District Football Association teams of eight districts in Rangpur division.

Despite their defeat in the last match today, the Rangpur DFA team became champions with maximum points by winning seven matches at the divisional level football championship.

If the Nilphamari DFA team could win the final match today against Rangpur DFA by a margin of six goals, then it (the Nilphamari DFA) would become the divisional level champions.

After the final match, Member of BFF and General Secretary of Nilphamari District Sports Association Arif Hossain moon handed over the trophy to the champions’ team amid huge applause of thousands of spectators.

President of Rangpur District Football Association Manjur Ahmed, Azad, General Secretary of Rangpur District Sports Association Tarikul Islam Golap and its member Rasel Amin Swapan were present.