BSS-36 Pro-AL candidates win DUTA polls





Pro-AL candidates win DUTA polls

DHAKA, Dec 30, 2019 (BSS) – Awami League backed teachers under “Blue Panel” today swept Dhaka University Teachers’ Association (DUTA) election, bagging 14 out of 15 executive committee posts, including all key positions.

Pro-BNP and Jamaat-e-Islami ‘White panel’ won only the Vice-President post.

Blue panel’s DU Earth and Environmental Science Faculty Dean Professor Dr ASM Maksud Kamal has been elected as DUTA president while Provost of Haji Muhammad Mohsin Hall Professor Nizamul Hoque Bhuiyan as general secretary.

Prof Kamal bagged 933 votes, while his rival Prof Laila Noor Islam from White Panel secured 438 votes. Prof Nizamul bagged 729 votes while White Panel’s Prof Hasanuzzaman of the “White” panel with 643 votes.

Prof Z. M. Parvez Sazzad was elected joint secretary while Prof Muhammad Abdul Moyeen of Organization Strategy and Leadership won the treasurer post.

All the ten executive members elected from the “Blue” panel. They are: Prof Aftab Ali Shaikh, Prof Nisar Hosain, Prof Zinat Huda, Prof Ziaur Rahman, Prof K M Saiful Islam Khan, Prof Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed, Prof Mohammad Amzad Ali, Prof Soumitra Shekhar, Prof Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam and Prof Zakia Parveen.

Prof Lutfor Rahaman of Statistics, is the only person elected from the pro-BNP White panel while the vice-president candidate from Blue panel Social Science faculty dean Prof Sadeka Halim is the lone Blue Panel candidate who could not be elected.

Professor of Management Information Systems (MIS) Dr. MD. Hasibur Rashi, who conducted the election, announced the results around 4 pm at the DU Teachers’ Club at the Dhaka University Teachers’ Club where 1434 voters, out of 2011, cast their votes.

Earlier, voting was held from 10 am to 2 pm at the teacher’s club on the campus.