Drama can convey constructive messages to society: Dr Hasan


CHATTOGRAM, Dec 25, 2019 (BSS)- Information Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud today called upon dramatists to convey constructive messages to the people of the society through their dramas.

Dr Hasan, also joint general secretary of the ruling Awami League, said this while addressing the inaugural ceremony of “Tirjok Natya Mela” held at Mukta Manchha of Theatre Institute, Chattogram (TIC) tonight.

Chief of Tirjok Natya Dal Ahmed Iqbal Haider presided over the function. Power Division Secretary Dr Ahmed Kaykaus addressed the event as the special guest.

The information minister said humanity is gradually decreasing from the people and they are becoming self-centered.

Dr. Hasan said ‘Tirjok Natya Dal’ is playing an important role to build the society through staging cultural events.

The information minister added that in his student life, he was a member of ‘Tirjok Natya Dal’. He also recollected the memories of being a member of the Natya Dal and one of his friends Amin Helali enlisted him as a member of the group.

He praised the Tirjok for remembering him as a member of the group.

Dr. Hasan also mentioned that during his assignment as general secretary of college Chhatra League, he was also secretary of a cultural organization ‘Banglar Mukh’ and he was actively involved in the cultural arena from his childhood.

Earlier, noted drama-personality of east Bengal Bivash Chakraborty, inaugurated the ‘Natya Mela’ while noted drama-personalities Mamunur Rashid inaugurated the ‘Tirjok Memorial Exhibition’ of the five-day events.

Along with Tirjok, three other prominent drama and theatre organizations from Dhaka are expected to perform in the festival which was began with staging ‘Tarongo Bhango’ of Tirjok tonight.

The drama fair includes documentary film, photographs exhibition, drama dialogue, drama discussion, drawing competition, storytelling program, lecture workshop, recitations, debating, mime action, dance and rendering songs.

Drama personalities Ramendu Majumder, Asaduzzaman Noor, MP, Nasiruddin Yousuf, Professor Abdus Selim, Dr. Afsar Ahmed, Mannan Hira, Golam Sarwar, Ziaul Hasan, Moloy Bhoumik, Dev Prasad Devnath and Alak Ghosh are expected to participate in different events of the festival.