BSS-27 Salam, Ataur elected President, GS of Ctg North dist AL committee





Salam, Ataur elected President, GS of Ctg North dist AL committee

CHATTOGRAM, Dec 7, 2019 (BSS) – M A Salam and Ataur Rahman Ata were elected President and General Secretary (GS) of Chattogram north district unit of Awami League (AL) for a three-year term.

The election was held at Chattogram International Convention centre from 3 pm to 6 pm today. A total of 366 voters cast their votes in the election, while four candidates vied in the polls for the two posts.

M A Salam, the existing GS of Chattogram north district unit AL bagged 223 votes, while his nearest constant acting president ABM Fazle Karim Chowdhury bagged 129 votes.

Sheikh Ataur Rahman was elected as GS by bagging 196 votes while his nearest candidate Giash Uddin bagged 154 votes.

AL general secretary and road transport and bridges minister Obaidul Quader conducted the electoral while AL central leader including presidium member of AL Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru, AL joint secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif, deputy minister for water resources and AL organizing secretary AKM Enamul Hoque Shamim, deputy minister for education Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury, central deputy publicity secretary Aminul Islam and deputy office secretary Barrister Biplob Barua were present.