BSS-40 Azad president, Riaz gen secy of DRU





Azad president, Riaz gen secy of DRU

DHAKA, Nov 30, 2019 (BSS) – Special correspondent of the Independent, Rafiqul Islam Azad, and Special Correspondent and Chief Reporter of, Riaz Chowdhury, were elected president and general secretary of Dhaka Reporters’ Unity (DRU) respectively today for the next one year.

Azad secured 550 votes and his nearest contestant Shah Newaz Dulal got 489 votes, while Riaz defeated his nearest rival candidate Nurul Islam Hasib by only two merging of votes.

Vice-president Nazrul Kabir bagged 488 votes while senior reporter of the Daily Star, Helemul Alam Biplab, was elected as DRU joint general secretary by grabbing the highest number of votes 851.

Other elected office bearers are: finance secretary – Ziaul Haque Sabuj (Unopposed), organising secretary – Habibur Rahman, office secretary – Jafar Iqbal, women affairs secretary – Rita Nahar (unopposed), publicity and publication secretary – Maidur Rahman Rubel, training and research secretary – Sakhawat Hossain Sumon, sports secretary – Md Mojibur Rahman, cultural secretary – Mizan Chowdhury, entertainment secretary – HM Akhter (unopposed) and welfare secretary – Khalid Saifullah (unopposed).

Executive members are: Moinul Ahasn, SM Mizan, Musfiqa Naznin, Kamruzzaman Bablu, Imran Hasan Majumder, Murad Hossain and Sayeed Abdul Malik.