Euro 2020 seedings and groups


BUCHAREST, Nov 30, 2019 (BSS/AFP) – The draw for Euro 2020 takes place on
Saturday in Bucharest. The complex format of the 24-team tournament, which
for the first time will be staged across 12 different nations, means certain
teams already know which group they will be allocated to.

Here AFP Sport lists the seedings and the draw as we know it so far, done
so that qualified host nations are guaranteed to play games at home.


Pot 1: Belgium, Italy, England, Germany, Spain, Ukraine

Pot 2: France, Poland, Switzerland, Croatia, Netherlands, Russia

Pot 3: Portugal, Turkey, Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Czech Republic

Pot 4: Wales, Finland, plus the four play-off winners

– Seedings are based on performances in qualifying

– Play-offs are split into four separate paths and will be played in
March, with the winner from each path qualifying for the finals

Path A: Bulgaria, Hungary, Iceland, Romania

Path B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Ireland, Slovakia, Republic of

Path C: Norway, Serbia, Scotland, Israel

Path D: Georgia, Belarus, North Macedonia, Kosovo Group line-up so far

Group A: Italy (home games in Rome), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Wales or

Group B: Belgium, Russia (Saint Petersburg), Denmark (Copenhagen), Finland
or Wales

Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands (Amsterdam), Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off
path D or Romania should they qualify (home games in Bucharest)

Group D: England (London), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off Path

Group E: Spain (Bilbao), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off Path B

Group F: Germany (Munich), Pot 2 team, Pot 3 team, Winner of play-off Path
A or Path D (if Romania win Path A)

– Play-off paths have been allocated groups to ensure host nations will
play at home should they qualify

– Ukraine, from Pot 1, have been placed in Group C to ensure they are kept
apart from Russia for diplomatic and security reasons, so Belgium
automatically go into Group B.