Praising Jatiya Party for playing effective role as the main opposition
party, Sheikh Hasina, also Leader of the House said, “Their (Jatiya Party)
contribution as opposition have played a significant role to strengthen the
democracy as they are taking part in discussions on various bills alongside
bringing amendments to those.”

The prime minister, however, welcomed the BNP for joining the parliament
after declaring it as illegal as the party along with others took part in the
2018 general elections, saying, “People’s participation were in the 2018
general election, so the BNP couldn’t topple the Awami League government with
support of the people.”

“But, the Awami League with the support of the countrymen successfully
overthrew the BNP government within one and a half month it assumed office
after the farcical general election on February 15, 1996,” she said.

The prime minister said that Ziaur Rahman and HM Ershad are no longer
presidents (of the country) as the apex court in a verdict announcing illegal
capture of power by them declaring the martial law.

“It is not legal to call them (Ziaur Rahman and HM Ershad) as presidents in
accordance with the High Court verdict as it has paved the way to continue
the democracy in the country,” she continued.

The Prime Minister, however, criticized Khaleda Zia as her government
didn’t behave with HM Ershad properly while he was in jail, saying that the
AL government has given possible every facility to the BNP chairperson, who
is now in jail for a number of graft cases including misappropriation of
money of orphans.

She said that Khaleda Zia had created a scope for Ershad to capture power
in 1982, in exchange of it, Ershad gave Khaldea Zia various facilities including
two houses and Taka 10 lakh as well.

The Prime Minister also sought peace of the departed soul of the late
Indian external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj for her role in placing the
land boundary agreement before the Indian parliament which was passed

Among others, Awami League lawmakers Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed,
Mohammad Nasim, and Shahjahan Khan, while Jatiya Party lawmakers, Raushan
Ershad, GM Quader, Moshiur Rahman Ranga, Kazi Firoz Rashid, Anisul Islam
Mahmud, Fakhrul Imam, Mojibul Haq Chunnu,Peer Fazlur Rahman, Ahsan Adilur
Rahman, Begum Salma Islam, Nazma Akhter, while BNP lawmaker Harun Ur
Rashid, and Tarikad Federation lawmaker Syed Nazibul Basher Maijbhandari,
took part in the discussion.

BSS/AHJ/QC/2125 hrs