Shakib predictably makes the cut in ICC World Cup XI


DHAKA, July 15, 2019 (BSS) – Bangladesh ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan made the cut in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 XI as it was predicted.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the XI hours after England became the new world champions, beating New Zealand on boundary counts in a nerve-shredding final at Lord’s on Sunday.

The Bangladesh talisman was the frontrunner of being the man of the tournament following his epic performance that saw him scored 606 runs and claimed 11 wickets, the first man in the World Cup history with 500 plus runs and 10 plus wickets in single edition.

Shakib is also the only one in the history of cricket’s biggest carnival with 100 plus runs and 30 plus wickets.

However he was edged by New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson who fought against the wind to help his side move into the final almost single-handedly. Williamson scored 35 percent runs of New Zealand’s total in whole World Cup. His captaincy was also particularly eye-catching and he is named the captain of ICC XI also.

The team includes six players from Sunday’s dramatic final at Lord’s.

The side was selected by former internationals and commentators Ian Bishop, Ian Smith and Isa Guha, along with cricket writer Lawrence Booth, while ICC General Manager Cricket, Geoff Allardice, was the fifth member and convener of the committee.

Jason Roy gets the nod at the top of the order for his tone-setting brilliance for England that saw him overcome injury during the tournament to help his side to the title.

Alongside Roy opening is India’s Rohit Sharma. One of the easier selections in this XI, considering the Indian star was the tournament’s top run scorer and cracked a record five centuries in all.

Williamson comes in at No.3 and will captain the side.

The Black Caps star scored more runs than any captain has ever done before at a World Cup and led his side with aplomb from start to finish.

Joe Root will come in at No.4 for this team after a World Cup that saw him finish as England’s top run scorer, fifth overall in the tournament, with tons against Pakistan and West Indies and three half centuries.

Shakib Al Hasan scored his runs this summer batting at No.3 for Bangladesh, but for much of his career he has come in at No.5 and it is there that he appears in this team.

Shakib had a quite wonderful tournament, averaging 87 with the bat with two centuries and five further half centuries, and yet still managed to chip in with 11 wickets as well with his left-arm spin.

Fellow all-rounder Ben Stokes is also a cast-iron selection – his heroics in the final were the stuff of fairytale but he was also a picture of consistency throughout the tournament for England.

Behind the stumps, Alex Carey effected 20 dismissals this tournament, only Kiwi Tom Latham managed more, while the Australian also bludgeoned 375 runs at an average north of 60.

Alongside Carey is his compatriot, and the tournament’s top wicket-taker with 27, Mitchell Starc.

Jofra Archer – hero of the Super Over in the final and appearing in his first World Cup – claimed 20 wickets at an impressive economy rate of 4.57 to earn his spot.

New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson finished second in the wicket charts with 21, including three in the final as well as an astonishing catch, while also going at less than five runs an over.

Last but by no means least is Jasprit Bumrah, the world’s No.1 ODI bowler who lived up to that billing with 18 wickets while still only going for 4.41 runs an over – better than any other bowler on the top wicket takers list.

The team of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 (in batting order) is:

Jason Roy (England) – 443 runs at 63.28

Rohit Sharma (India) – 648 runs at 81.00

Kane Williamson (c) (New Zealand) – 578 runs at 82.57

Joe Root (England) – 556 runs at 61.77

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) – 606 runs at 86.57, 11 wickets at 36.27

Ben Stokes (England) – 465 runs at 66.42, seven wickets at 35.14

Alex Carey (wk) (Australia) – 375 runs at 62.50, 20 dismissals

Mitchell Starc (Australia) – 27 wickets at 18.59

Jofra Archer (England) – 20 wickets at 23.05

Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand) – 21 wickets at 19.47

Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 18 wickets at 20.61