President attends swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi


NEW DELHI, May 30, 2019 (BSS) – President M Abdul Hamid today joined the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India at Rashtraparti Bhavan here in front of a large gathering of national and international dignitaries.

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister.

After a landslide victory in Lok Sabha elections 2019, Narendra Modi took oath as Prime Minister of India for his second term this evening.

Bangladesh Liberation War Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, MP, and President’s spouse Rashida Khanam accompanied the President in the oath-taking ceremony.

Nearly 8,000 guests, including foreign guests especially from the members of the Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) grouping, including Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Thailand besides India, also witnessed the oath-taking ceremony.

The guest list includes heads of several neighbouring countries, chief ministers of most of the states and a few famous personalities of the entertainment world.

Among the invited quests, President of Sri Lanka Maithripala Sirisena, President of Myanmar U. Win Myint, Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Bhutan Lotay Tshering and President of Kyrgyz Republic Sooronbay Jeenbekov attended the function.

Meanwhile, BIMSTEC’s leading member Thailand was represented by country’s Agriculture Minister Grisada Boonrach.

Later the ceremony, the President, his wife and Liberation War Affairs Minister are scheduled to attend a Banquet Dinner at Rashtrapati Bhawan.