Dhaka-Rajshahi nonstop train service from Thursday


RAJSHAHI, April 23, 2019 (BSS)- A non-stop intercity train named
‘Bonolota Express’ is going to be launched on Rajshahi-Dhaka route to meet up
the long-cherished demands of people from April 25 (Thursday).

The 928 seated ultramodern and high speed train with 12 coaches
including two air-conditioned chairs and seven non-air conditioned chairs
will be running on the route without any stoppage between Dhaka and Rajshahi.

Khandakar Shahidul Islam, General Manager of West Zone of Bangladesh
Railway, told BSS that the train will be a new addition to the existing three
intercity trains – Silk City Express, Padma Express and Dhumketu Express- on
the route.

The train will start from Rajshahi at 7am and reach Kamalapur Railway
Station by 11.40 am. It will leave at 1:15 pm and reach Rajshahi at 6 pm. The
train will run with some modern facilities like bio-toilet, recliner chair,
Wi-Fi and led display.

Shahidul Islam says Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will launch the train
service through video conference from Dhaka at 10am on April 25.

Railways Minister Nurul Islam Sujan, MP, and Rajshahi City Corporation
Mayor AHM Khairuzzman Liton will attend the inaugural ceremony to be held at
Rajshahi Railway station before departure of the opening train at 11.10 am on

He said 50 high speed and modern coaches were imported from Indonesia to
new trains on different routes including the Rajshahi-Dhaka one.

Once the train service — Banalata Express — is launched, passengers
will be able to travel to Dhaka from Rajshahi within 4 hours and 45 minutes,
around one and a half hours less than the current travel time.

The forthcoming train will save at least two hours journey time than
that of the existing three express trains, he said adding that the train will
run on the 343-kilometer route every day excepting Friday, a weekly day-off.

This would be the third nonstop train; currently two trains are plying
the Dhaka-Chattogram route.

Shahidul Islam also said the existing Padma Express which runs between
Rajshahi and Dhaka will run between Chapainawabgonj and Dhaka via Rajshahi
from the same date.

At present, the zone, covering Rajshahi, Rangpur and Khulna divisions,
has been operating 133 trains, including 43 intercity, on different routes
including the capital.

Forty-seven local or shuttle and 46 commuter or mail trains are also
being operated on various routes.