Second phase of BCL begins tomorrow


DHAKA, April 8, 2019 (BSS)-The Bangladesh Championship League (BCL) 2018-19 is set to begin its second phase tomorrow (Tuesday) at the Birshreshtha Shaheed Sepoy Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in the city’s Kamalapur.

The running season of BCL began on February 10 last with a match between Farashganj Sporting Club and newcomers Dhaka City Football Club Limited

This season, a total of 11 teams are participating in the second tier of the country’s domestic football. All the matches are being played at the BSSSM Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur, Dhaka.

So far, eleven rounds of matches have been played with each team playing 10 games.

As of now, Farashganj Sporting Club top the table with 18 points followed by Bangladesh Police FC and Agrani Bank Ltd. SC respectively both of whom are on 16 points but are only separated by goal difference.

At the other end of the table, Fakirerpool Youngmen’s Club and Swadhinata Krira Sangha are in the relegation zone at the 10th and 11th position respectively. Both teams have eight points but Fakirerpool has a better goal difference.

The league has seen many high voltage action so far accompanied by some quality goals. At the end of the first phase, Police FC’s Amirul Islam lead the top scorers’ chart with eight goals followed Saif Shamsuddin of Farashganj who scored six goals.