Pace camp to increase bowlers’ consistency, mental side


 DHAKA, Feb 23, 2018 (BSS)- A nine-day special pace camp, under the supervision of bowling coach Courtney Walsh, began today (Friday) ahead of the Nidahas Trophy T20s in March, which involves India and hosts Sri Lanka.

The camp will go on until March 3.

Bangladesh’s pace bowlers have come under increased scrutiny after their dismal performance as they failed to stop Sri Lanka batsmen in the recently concluded two T20s series. Sri Lanka won the T20 series by putting up scores of 194 and 210, and losing eight wickets across the two matches.

In this situation to improve the bowlers’ performance in the upcoming T20I series, the Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hassan instructed to arrange a special pace camp for the pace bowlers under bowling coach Walsh. Bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed and Rubel Hossain are among the 14 bowlers participating in the camp. Five specialist batsmen are also included in the camp.

Talking to the reporters coach Walsh said they are working on the mental side of bowling in the camp and their main aim is to keep all simple.

According to his assessment, that’s what has happened in the last series. The bowlers went a little bit over the top in terms of trying a bit too hard. They have to know what best to do in a situation and how to execute it. If they get the consistency, eight out of ten times it will work in their favour.

Walsh said they are trying to get them to be consistent and remain calm with the execution.

The former West Indies pacer said the camp will make them know what fast bowling is all about, and the hard work that is required. It is a combination of both. He said they are trying to keep it simple by focusing on the consistency, working on the skill-set and get a better understanding of it.

Pace bowlers – Rubel Hossain, Ebadat Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, M Robiul, Khaled Ahmed, Qazi Anik, Hossain Ali, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jaheed Rahi, Mustafizur Rahman, Abul Hasan Raju, Abu Hayder Rony, Md Saifuddin and Kamrul Islam Rabbi.

Batsmen – Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarker, Ariful Haque, Zakir Hasan and Sabbir Ahmed.