Zia creates controversy over independence to rehabilitate Jammat : Minister


SANGSAD BHABAN, Feb 24, 2019 (BSS) –Railway Minister Nurul Islam Sujon
today said BNP founder Ziaur Rahman had created a way of controversy on the
liberation war through rehabilitating the pro-Pakistani Jammat-e-Islami

“We had settled all the disputed matters through the War of Independence
and achieving the victory on December 16 in 1971, but the dictator and BNP
founder Ziaur Rahman created an opportunity of controversy regarding the
liberation war,” he said while addressing on the thanks giving motion on
the speech of President M Abdul Hamid in the house on January 30, this

Taking part in the discussion the minister said the president address has
focused the development of the various sector of the country and also has
given a guideline on how to reach the country to a target of a developed

The minister said Ziaur Rahman had claimed himself a ‘freedom fighter’ but
all his activities during his regime were anti-liberation.

Terming the BNP-Jammat as the patrons of anti-liberation forces, Nurul
Islam Sujon said there is no difference between the philosophy of the BNP
and Jammat as the philosophy of these two parties are same.

Criticizing the BNP-led Oikyafront, lawmaker of Munshiganj-1 Mahi B
Chowdhury of Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh said the BNP-led Oikyafront under the
leadership of Dr Kamal Hossen has been created illegally with the inclusion
of the anti-liberation like Jammat-e-Islami Bangladesh.

The Bikalpa Dhara leader said “we have a difference with the ruling Awami
League, but we are united with the AL and other parties regarding the
question of independence, sprit of liberation war and sovereignty.”

The lawmakers also thanked the President for giving a timely speech
highlighting the success stories of the government and guiding the nation
towards peace, progress and prosperity.

Earlier, they paid a rich tribute to the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu
Sheikh Mujibur Rahman for his contribution to establishing an independent

Treasury bench lawmakers Begum Sagupta Yasmin of Munshiganj-2, Habibur
Rahman of Bogra-5,Yousuf Abdullah Harun of Cummilla-3, Morshed Alam of
Noakhali-2, Iqbal Hossen of Shariatpur-1 and Ebadul Karim of Brahmanbaria-
5, among others, also spoke on the occasion.