BSS-42 AL picks candidates for UZ polls in 122 UZs





AL picks candidates for UZ polls in 122 UZs

DHAKA, Feb 23, 2019 (BSS) – Bangladesh Awami League (AL) today finalised its candidates for the chairmen posts in the third phase of upazila parishad polls in 122 upazilas.

The nominations were finalised at a meeting of the AL Local Government Nomination Board held at Ganabhaban here this afternoon.

AL Local Government Election Nomination Board Chairperson and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

Members of the board including Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Obaidul Quader, Dr Abdur Razzak, Muhammad Faruk Khan, Dr Dipu Moni and Abul Hasnat Abdullah attended the meeting.

The third phase elections to 127 upazila parishads under 17 districts in five divisions will be held on March 24.

Election Commission (EC) Joint Secretary SM Asaduzzaman announced the detailed schedule of the third phase UZ polls at a press conference at Agargaon Nirbachan Bhaban here on February 14.

According to the schedule, the deadline for nomination paper submission for the third phase polls has been set on February 26.

The scrutiny will be held on February 28 while the last date for candidature withdrawal is on March 7, said the EC secretary.