BSS-40 98 heads of state, int’l bodies so far greet Sheikh Hasina





98 heads of state, int’l bodies so far greet Sheikh Hasina

DHAKA, Feb 14, 2019 (BSS) – As many as 98 heads of state and government as well as

chiefs of different international bodies have so far extended their heartfelt

congratulations to Awami League President Sheikh Hasina on securing her party’s

landslide victory in the December 30 elections and on her election as the prime

minister for the fourth time.

Prime Minister and Leader of the House Sheikh Hasina informed the Jatiya Sangsad in

reply to a starred question from Jatiya Party lawmaker Rustam Ali Faraji during her

question-answer session on Wednesday.

Those who extended their greetings are US President Donald J Trump, British Prime

Minister Theresa May, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, German Chancellor Angela

Markel, Palestine President Mahmud Abbas and Palestine Prime Minister Dr Rami

Hamdallah, Chinese President Xi Jinping, Premier of the State Council of China Li

Keqiang, Saudi King Salman Bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud, Russian President Vladimir Putin,

President of Swiss Confederation Ueli Mauarer, Iran President Hassan Rouhani, UAE

President Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Emir of the State of Qatar Tamim Bin Hamad Al-

Thani, Prime Minister and the Minister of Interior of the State of Qatar Abdullah Bin

Nasser Bin Khalifa Al-Thani, Fiji Prime Minister JV Bainimarama, Sri Lankan President

Maithripala Sirisena and Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, King of

Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuk, Prime Minister of Bhutan Dr Lotay Tshering,

former Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay, Sheikh Hasina said.

Besides, she said, Oman Sultan Qaboos Bin Said, Sultan of Negara Brunei Darussalam

Haji Hassanal Bolkiah, Sudan Prime Minister Mutaz Musa Abdulla, Egypt President Abdel

Fattah Al-Sisi, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepalese Prime

Minister KP Sharma Oli, Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien, Vietnam Prime Minister

Nguyen Xuan Phuc, Myanmar President Win Myint, Maldives President Ibrahim Mohamed

Solih, North Korean President Kim Yong Nam, North Korean Prime Minister Pak Pong Ju,

Nicaragua President Daniel Ortega, Lebanon Prime Minister Saad R Hariri, Croatia Prime

Minister Andrej Plenkovic, Belarus Prime Minister Sergei Rumas, Hungary Prime Minister

Viktor Orban, Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, Cuba President Miguel Diaz-

Canel Bermudez, Estonia Prime Minister Juri Ratas, Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babit,

Afghan President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani, Thailand Prime Minister General Prayut Chan-

o-Cha, Serbia Prime Minister Ana Brnabic, South Korean President Moon Jae-in, Ghana

President Nana addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Cambodia Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena

Padei Techo Hun Sen, Poland Prime Minister Mateusz Moawieckil and Chairperson of

India’s Congress Parliamentary Party Sonia Gandhi extended congratulations.

The prime minister said Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz, Japan Prime Minister

Shinzo Abe, Turkey President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Greece Prime Minister Alexis

Tsipras, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Netherlands Prime Minister Mrak

Rutte, Jordan Prime Minister Omar Al Razzaz, Slovak Prime Minister peter Pellegrini,

Azerbaijan Prime Minister Novruz Mammadov, Tunisia Prime Minister Youssef CHAHED,

Bosnia and Herzegovina Prime Minister Dr Denis Zvizdic, Norway Prime Minister Erna

Solberg, Denmark Prime Minister lors Lokke, France Prime Minister Edouard Philippe,

Kyrgyz Prime Minister Mukhammedkalyi Abylgaziev, Algerian Prime Minister Ahmed

Ouyahia, Ethiopian Prime Minister Dr Abia Ahmed, Armeniam Prime Minister Nikol

Pashinyan, Malaysian Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad, South African President

Mamamela Cyril, Georgian Prime Minister Mamuka Bakhtadze, Slovenian Prime Minister

Marjan Sarec and Macedonian Prime Minister Zoran Zaev greeted her.

Those who others greeted the premier are Crown Prince, Deputy Prime Minister of

Saudi Arabia HRM Mohammad Bin Salman bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud; UAE Vice President, Prime

Minister and Ruler Dubai Mohammad Bin Rashed Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and

Deputy Supreme Commander of UAE Armed Forces Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan,

Deputy Emir of the State of Qatar Abdullah Bin Hamad Al-Thani, Nicaragua Vice

President Rosario Murillo, Governor of Meghalaya of India Tathagata Roy, Governor of

Goa of India Mridudul Sinha, Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee, Chief

Minister of Maharasthra Devenath Fadnasis, former Chief Minister of Assam Tarun Gogoi

and Sri Lankan Leader of Opposition Mahindra Rajapaksa.

Apart from them, Secretary General of D-8, Organization for Economic Cooperation

Dato’ Ku Jaafar Ku Shaari, President of IPS Norman (New York) Walther Lichem, SAARC

Secretary General Amjad Hussain, BIMSTEC Secretary General M Shahidul Islam, Secretary

General of Parliamentary Union of the OIC Member States Mouhamed Khouraichi Niass, OIC

Secretary General A. Al-Othaimeen, the Communist Party of China, World Bank Vice

President Hartwig Schafer, President of Bharat Chamber of Commerce of Kolkata Sitaram

Sharma, Director of Institute of South Asian Women Prem Ahluwalia, ADB President

Takehiko Nakao, Chairman of Japan-Bangladesh Parliamentary Friendship League taro Aso

congratulated Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

The prime minister expressed her gratitude to the heads of government and state as

well as the chiefs of the international bodies who sent the messages of greetings to

her and the people of Bangladesh.

“In their congratulatory messages, the world leaders reiterated their willingness

to work with our government together for socioeconomic development and continued

prosperity of the people of Bangladesh,” Sheikh Hasina added.