Polls schedule for women reserved seats on Feb 17


DHAKA, Jan 14, 2019 9BSS) – Election schedule for women reserved seats in 11th Jatiya Sangsad will be announced on February 17.

Election Commission (EC) Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed came up with the disclosure while briefing reporters at the Nirbachan Bhaban at Agargaon here today.

The 50 seats of parliament reserved for women are distributed among parties based on the number of their representation in Parliament.

In the last JS polls held on December 30, the Awami League (AL)-led Grand Alliance secured 288 seats — the AL 257 alone, the Jatiya Party 22 and others 9. Meanwhile, the BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront got only eight seats.

According to the 11th parliamentary polls’ results, 43 seats will be reserved for Awami League while four for the Jatiya Party, one for Jatiya Oikyafront and two for the independent and other candidates.

The Jatiya Party has already finalized four nominees to be elected to reserved women seats in the 11th parliament, said a JP source earlier.

JP Chairman HM Ershad approved the nominations also. The four nominees are Parveen Osman (Narayanganj), Dr Shaheena Akhter (Kurigram), Najma Akhter (Feni) and Monika Alam (Jhenidah)