BPL begins today


DHAKA, Jan 5, 2018 (BSS) – The sixth edition of UCB Bangladesh Premier
League (BPL) T20 Powered by TVS begins today at the Sher-e-
Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in the city’s Mirpur.

Defending champions Rangpur Riders will take on Chittagong Vikings in the
opening match of the tournament while last year’s runner-up Dhaka Dynamites
face Rajshahi Kings in the day’s other opening day’s fixture.

Dhaka Dynamites, Rajshahi Kings, Khulna Titans, Rangpur Riders, Comilla
Victorians, Chittagong Vikings and Sylhet Sixers are the seven participant
teams for this edition of BPL.

Like the previous year, matches will be played on three venues across the
country. Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (SICS), Sylhet is the latest
venue after SBNCS and Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) of Chattogram.

Private satellite channel Gazi TV (GTV) and Maasranga Television are the
two official broadcast partners from Bangladesh for this year’s BPL.
Rabbithole app will also provide live streaming for both Android and iOS

Some of the famous superstars around the world want to play this year’s
BPL competition for the first time.

Among them, Ex South African batsman AB de Villiers was signed by Rangpur
Riders. Rangpur also signed England batsman Alex Hales. Comilla Victorians
have roped in another Aussie batsman Steve Smith. Sylhet Sixers brought in
Australia opener David Warner and appointed him as the captain of the side.
Sylhet also signed spinner Sandeep Lamichhane who will be the first ever from
Nepal to play in the BPL.

Each team can field maximum four foreign players in the playing 11 in this
year. Previously five players were allowed to play in the eleven.

Every match-day will feature two matches with the first match starting
from 12:30 pm and the second match will begins from 5:20 pm. Matches which
will be held on Friday will have different match time as the first one will
kick off from 2 pm and the second match will start from 7:20 pm.

The 35-day tournament will end on February 8 following the final at SBNCS.