New Zealand to bat first in second ODI


MOUNT MAUNGANUI, New Zealand, Jan 5, 2019 (BSS/AFP) – New Zealand again won
the toss and opted to bat in the second one-day international against Sri
Lanka in Mount Maunganui on Saturday.

“It’s going to be another fair surface and should play well throughout, so
hopefully we can do the job first up,” said captain Kane Williamson.

“The same surface as the other day so obviously a little bit used but
whether it makes it better or worse we will have to wait and see.”

New Zealand also batted first after winning the toss in the first game of
the series which they won by 45 runs two days ago when Martin Guptill and
James Neesham clobbered the bowling.

After that showing Neesham, who is in contention with Doug Bracewell for
an all-rounder spot in the World Cup squad, has been retained in the side
with Bracewell again in the sideline.

Sri Lankan captain Lasith Malinga, who would also have batted if given the
choice, said he would be demanding a better start from his bowlers.

“We want to show a good 15 overs and then capitalise on that and get a
good finish,” he said.

New Zealand have made one change with Tim Southee in for Lockie Ferguson
while Sri Lanka have kept the same line up.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross
Taylor, Henry Nicholls, James Neesham, Tim Seifert, Matt Henry, Ish Sodhi,
Tim Southee, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dinesh Chandimal,
Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Asela Gunaratne, Seekkuge Prasanna, Thisara
Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga (capt), Nuwan Pradeep

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Shaun Haig (NZL)

TV Umpire: Paul Wilson (AUS)

Match Referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)