Newly-elected MPs including Sheikh Hasina take oath


DHAKA, Jan 3, 2019 (BSS) – The newly-elected lawmakers to the 11th parliament were sworn in at a function at Jatiya Sangsad (JS) today.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury first took oath as per the rules of procedure and put signature on the letter of oath.

The Speaker then administered the oath to the Awami League MPs, including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, at the Oath Room of Sangsad Bhaban.

Later, she administered the oath to other MPs of Jatiya Party (Ershad), Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, Tariqat Federation, Jatiya Party (Manju) and independent.

Senior Secretary of JS Secretariat Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath- taking ceremony which began with recitation from the holy Quran.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina wearing a pink and ash coloured Jamdani sharee entered the Oath Room at 11:03 am.

The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday published the results of the 11th general elections and issued gazette notification containing the names and addresses of candidates of 298 constituencies.

The polling was held between 8 am and 4 pm peacefully amid a festivity in 299 seats out of total 300 on Sunday last as the voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was suspended due to death of a candidate earlier.

However, the results of Brahmanbaria-2 constituency was postponed as voting in three centres of the constituency was suspended.

According to the polls results, Awami League bagged 259 seats, HM Ershad- led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats while BNP got just five seats.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal two seats, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two seats and Tariqat Federation one seat.

Gonoforum bagged two seats while Manju-led Jatiya Party one seat and independent candidates got three seats.

Traditionally, the oath-taking ceremony of lawmakers takes place within three days of the publication of the gazette.