AL bags overwhelming victory in polls bagging 259 seats


DHAKA, Dec 31, 2018 (BSS) – The ruling Awami League has attained a massive victory in unofficial results of the 11th general election bagging 259 seats with “boat” symbol.

The Election Commission (EC) announced the unofficial results of 298 seats out of 300 as the voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was postponed due to death of a candidate earlier and the results of Brahmanbaria-2 seat will be announced after reelection in its three centres.

HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats with “plough” symbol while BNP got five seats with “sheaf of paddy”, EC Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said while announcing election results at Nirbachan Bhaban here on Sunday night.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal two, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two and Tariqat Federation one with their grand alliance’s main partner Awami League’s election symbol ‘boat’, he said.

Gonoforum bagged two seats with “sheaf of paddy” and “rising sun” symbols while Manju-led Jatiya Party (JP) one with ‘bicycle’ and independent candidates got three seats.

In the election, AL-led grand alliance secured a total of 288 seats while BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront bagged seven seats.

The polling was held between 8 am and 4 pm peacefully amid a festivity in 299 seats out of total 300 on Sunday.

Male and female voters cast their franchise after the voting began at 8 am in all polling centres in the country.

A total of 1,846 candidates contested in the polls.

A total of 10, 42, 38,677 voters, including 5, 25, 72,365 male and 5,16,66,312 female, were eligible to exercise their voting rights at 206,477 polling booths of 40,183 voting centres in 299 constituencies in the country.

The EC took votes using the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) at all polling booths in six constituencies for the first time. The constituencies were – Dhaka-6 and 13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3, Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2.

About 608,000 members of law enforcement agencies and 66 returning officers performed their responsibilities to conduct the election.

A total of 4,0183 presiding officers, 20, 7,312 assistant presiding officers and 4,14,624 polling officers were appointed for conducting the election while about 1,328 executive magistrates were deployed and 640 judicial magistrates worked in 122 electoral inquiry committees during the polls.