Election campaign gains momentum in Netrakona


NETRAKONA, Dec 25, 2018 (BSS) – With five days left, electioneering
campaign for the upcoming parliamentary election for all the five
constituencies of the district has reached its peak as all the candidates are
passing their busy times to woo the voters.

The candidates of different political parties including Awami League (AL)
and Bangladesh Nationalist party (BNP) are seen conducting campaigns with
posters and leaflets to convince the voters for casting votes in favor of the
candidates from early morning to midnight.

The contestants accompanied by their party workers, leaders and supporters
are seen meeting voters, exchanging greetings with them and seeking their

Meanwhile, all the five constituencies of Netrakona district got a new
look with posters, banners and festoons of different candidates.

District election office sources said, a total of 26 candidates are on the
election race for all the five constituencies in the district for the
upcoming national election scheduled to be held on December 30.

Talking to this BSS correspondent, many of the voters said main competition
is likely to be taken place between the candidates of Bangladesh Awami League
and BNP in all the constituencies.

In Netrakona-1 (Durgapur-Kalmakanda) constituency, there are five
candidates. But, the issue of main competition between AL candidate and
social worker Manu Mojumder and BNP candidate Barrister Kaiser Kamal is being

In Netrakona-2 (Barhatta-Netrakona Sader) constituency, six candidates are
contesting for the seat. But, the main completion would be taken place
between AL candidate, renowned freedom fighter and senior political leader
Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru and BNP candidate Dr. Anwarul Haque.

In Netrakona-3 (Kendua-Atpara) constituency, six candidates are on
election race for the seat. But, contest would be held between AL candidate
and AL central leader Asim Kumar Ukil and BNP candidate Rafdiqul Islam

In Netrakona-4 (Mohanganj-Khaliajury-Modan), four candidates including AL
incumbent MP and social worker Rebeka Momin and BNP candidate Tahmina Jaman
are contesting for the seat.

In Netrakona- 5 (Purbadhala) constituency, there are five candidates are
contesting in the constituency. The main competition would be taken place
between AL incumbent MP freedom fighter Waresat Husain Belal Bir-Pratik and
BNP candidate Abu Taher Talukder.

Deputy Commissioner and also retuning officer of Netrakona district Main-
UL-Islam told BSS here today that congenial election atmosphere is now
prevailing in all the five constituencies of the district.

He also informed that all the officials including election officers,
executive magistrates, judicial officers and members of all the law-enforcing
agencies rendering service for holding the upcoming national polls in a free,
fair and peaceful manner.