Technocrat ministers submit resignation letters


DHAKA, Nov 6, 2018 (BSS) – All four technocrat ministers submitted their resignation letters to the Cabinet Division this evening as asked by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina ahead of the polls.

“We’ve received resignation letters from all the four technocrat ministers,” Cabinet secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam told BSS without detailing further.

Talking to reporters, Road Transport and Bridges Minister and Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader earlier said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has asked the technocrat ministers to resign from the cabinet.

“She has asked the technocrat ministers in the cabinet to tender their resignation letters,” Quader said.

The technocrats, who submitted their resignation letters, are Post and Telecommunications and ICT Minister Mostafa Jabbar, Science and Technology Minister Architect Yeafesh Osman, Religious Affairs Minister Principal Motiur Rahman and Expatriates Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Nurul Islam BSc.

Jabbar, meanwhile, told newsmen that he was rendering his resignation and it was up to the premier’s decision whether she would accept it.