BSP-22 West Indies opt to bowl against India in second T20





West Indies opt to bowl against India in second T20

LUCKNOW, India, Nov 6, 2018 (BSS/AFP) – West Indies captain Carlos
Brathwaite won the toss and elected to bowl against India in the second
Twenty20 international in Lucknow on Tuesday.

The visitors, who trail the three-match series 1-0, have just made one
change from their previous loss on Sunday with batsman Nicholas Pooran coming
in for Rovman Powell.

“We will bowl first. This is a new stadium and we want to chase. Dew
factor is also one of the reasons, we decided to bowl,” Brathwaite said ahead
of the Lucknow stadium’s international debut.

“Nicholas Pooran is in the team in place of Powell. He is a good player
of spin and he is a left-hander so that will add balance to our team.”

India skipper Rohit Sharma admitted that he would have also bowled first
had he won the toss, as the hosts eye a series-clinching win.

“There is grass on the pitch so I am guessing pitch will hold up. But I
am not sure about the outfield as there is lot of dew expected around 7.30,”
said Sharma.

“As a group, we are determined to play good cricket and that’s what is

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh
Pant, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar,
Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed

West Indies: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Shai Hope, Denesh Ramdin,
Shimron Hetmyer, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman
Powell, Fabian Allen, Khary Pierre, Oshane Thomas

Umpires: Anil Chaudhary (IND), CK Nandan

TV umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)